Chooper's Guide ... the Internet's most comprehensive substance abuse treatment, prevention and intervention resource directory.

ASAM Links and Resources

ASAM-Choopersguide


 American Society for Addiction Medicine   


ASAM is a professional society representing over 3,000 physicians and associated professionals dedicated to increasing access and improving the quality of addiction treatment; educating physicians, other medical professionals and the public; supporting research and prevention; and promoting the appropriate role of physicians in the care of patients with addictions.

 

ASAM's Mission

  • increase access to and improve the quality of addiction treatment;
  • to educate physicians (including medical and osteopathic students), other health care providers and the public;
  • to support research and prevention;
  • to promote the appropriate role of the physician in the care of patients with addiction;
  • and to establish addiction medicine as a specialty recognized by professional organizations, governments, physicians, purchasers and consumers of health care services, and the general public

 

ASAM-Choopersguide

Find an ASAM Physician 

ASAM nationwide directory of addiction medicine professionals.

Find an ASAM Physician Near You


ASAM State Websites ~ Links

Arizona Society of Addiction Medicine

California Society of Addiction Medicine

Florida Society of Addiction Medicine

Georgia Society of Addiction Medicine

Illinois Society of Addiction Medicine

Kentucky Society of Addiction Medicine

Massachusetts Society of Addiction Medicine

Michigan Society of Addiction Medicine

Minnesota Society of Addiction Medicine

New Jersey Society of Addiction Medicine

New York Society of Addiction Medicine

North Carolina Society of Addiction Medicine

Northern New England Society of Addiction Medicine

Ohio Society of Addiction Medicine

Pennsylvania Society of Addiction Medicine

Tennessee Society of Addiction Medicine

Washington Society of Addiction Medicine

 

Chapter Presidents and Executives

Chapters Council Co-Chairs

Dr. Gavin Bart
(612) 873-9095
Email: bartx005(at)umn(dot)edu

Dr. Norman Wetterau
(585) 335-2350
Email: normwetterau(at)aol(dot)com


Alabama
President
Dr. Xiulu Ruan
(251) 478-4900
Email: xiuluruan@yahoo.com
Vice President
Dr. Dean Willis
(256) 882-2003
Email: kdw(a)alabamapaincenter.com
President Elect
Dr. Ellen Ovson
(256) 879-7272
eovson@yahoo.com
Secretary
Dr. Ron Lee
(251) 923-2050
rlee623517@aol.com
Treasurer
Dr. Patrick Couch
jpcmd@hotmail.com
Immediate Past President
Dr. Nancy White
(256) 658-0666
Email: nancytwhitemdpc@gmail.com
Arizona
President:
Dr. Daniel Glick, FASAM
(480) 614-5622
Email: drglick@danglickmd.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Michael Denicole
Email: rebeldoc@aol.com
Website:
http://www.azsam.com/
Arkansas
President:
Dr. Michael J. Mancino
(501) 526-8442
Email: mjmancino@uams.edu
Treasurer:
Dr. James Eaton
(501) 664-0483
Email: jmsetn@medscape.com
California
President:
Dr. Itai Danovitch
(310) 423-2600
Email: danovitchi@cshs.org
President-Elect:
Dr. Monkia A. Koch
Email: koch_monika@hotmail.com
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Jeffery Wilkens
(310) 423-3754
Email: jefferywilk@gmail.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Romana Zvereva
(310) 821-2151
Email: romanazvereva@addictionmedicinela.com
Executive Director:
Kerry G. Parker, CAE
(415) 764-4855
Email: csam@csam-asam.org
CME Coordinator / Administrative Manager:
Michael Barack
(415) 764-4855
Email: csam@csam-asam.org
Membership/Event Coordinator:
Chezka Solon
(415) 764-4855
Email: csam@csam-asam.org
Website:
http://www.csam-asam.org/
Colorado
President:
Dr. Judith Reynolds
Email: JReynolds@ColoradoCollege.edu
Treasurer:
Dr. Steven Wright
Email: sleighwright@gmail.com
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Chike Onyejekwe
(719) 647-9187
Email: conyejekwe@msn.com
Connecticut
President:
Dr. Doug Gibson
(203) 577-9931(c)
Email: dgibson@uchc.edu
Chapter Executive:
Marie Philopena
(860) 714-2333
Email: mphilope2@stfranciscare.org
Florida
President:
Dr. Ilene R. Robeck
(727) 289-1396
Treasurer:
John Harden, LCSW, CAP, MPH
(863) 800-0285
Email: ceo@fsamonline.org
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Scott Teitelbaum
(352) 265-5549
Email: teitesa@ufl.edu
Website:
http://www.fsamonline.org/
Georgia
President / Treasurer:
Dr. Ray Gaskin, FASAM
(912) 352-9902
Email: gaskinjrr@aol.com
Executive Coordinator:
Robin F. McCown
(678) 447-1595
Email: robin.mccown@farleyctr.com
Hawaii
Interim President
Dr. William Haning
(808) 586-7436
Email: haning@hawaii.edu
CME Coordinator:
Brenda Wong
(808) 536-7702
Email: bwong@hma-assn.org
Immediate Past-President
Dr. James C. Demarco
(610) 209-6593
Email: drjamesdem@aol.com
Idaho
President:
Dr. Dave Hadlock
(208) 735-0000
Email: drhadlock@gmail.com
Secretary / Treasurer:
John Casper
(208) 321-0634
drc@medcon.org
Illinois
President:
Dr. John A. Peterson
(217) 344-2740
Email: johnaustinpeterson@comcast.net
Chapter Manager:
Hermese Bryant
(773) 558-5993
Email: illinoisasam@aol.com
Website:
http://ilsocietyofaddictionmedicine.org/
Indiana
President:
Dr. Melanie Margiotta
1803 Broad Ripple Ave
Indianapolis, IN  46220
(317) 726-0777 - ph
(317) 726-0779 - fax
Email: kolbecenter@sbcglobal.net
Kentucky
President:
Dr. Michelle Lofwall
Email: michelle.lofwall@uky.edu
President-Elect:
Dr. Christopher M. Stewart
Email: cmstew01@louisville.edu
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Kelly Clark, MBA, FASAM
Email: kclark@cdphp.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Mark Jorrisch, FASAM
Email: mjorri8481@yahoo.com
Louisiana
President:
Dr. Douglas W. Cook
(318) 855-4774
Email: drdoug@sobermd.com
Maryland
President:
Dr. Gerald E. Marti
(301) 983-8659
Email: gemarti@mac.com
Treasurer:
Dr. J. Ramsay Farah
(301) 766-0033
Email: jrfhealth@aol.com
Executive Director:
Christina F. Sacco
Email: cfsacco1@aol.com
Massachusetts
President:
Dr. Jacquelyn Starer
Email: jjstarer@aol.com
Immediate Past President:
Dr. Alan Wartenberg
(401) 273-7100
Email: aw447@aol.com
Secretary:
Dr. Michael F. Bierer, MPH
(617) 724-6200
Email: mjbierer@gmail.com
Treasurer:
Ken Freedman
Email: kenneth.freedman@state.ma.us
Chapter Administrator:
Lynda Layer
(781) 434-7317
Email: llayer@mms.org
Chapter Assistant:
Amy McInerney
(781) 434-7316
Email: amcinerney@mms.org
Specialty Society Relations Coordinator:
Andrew Cronin Finn
(781) 434-7314
Email: afinn@mms.org
Website:
http://www.masam.org/
Michigan
President:
Dr. William Morrone
(989) 891-8979 - office
(989) 891-9199 - fax
Email: wmorrone@hom.org
Email: william.morrone@sbcglobal.net
Treasurer:
Dr. John Hopper
Email: HoppeJOA@trinity-health.org
Association Executive:
Angie Kemppainen
(517) 336-7586
Email: AKemppainen@msms.org
Website:
http://miaddictionmedicine.org/
Minnesota
President:
Dr. David Frenz
(651) 232-3640
Email: dafrenz@healtheast.org
President-Elect:
Dr. Pamela Shultz
(612) 240-0873
Email: pjs005@comcast.net
Secretary:
Dr. Pamela Gonzalez
Email: whatizleft@hotmail.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Lee Beecher
Email: leebeecher@aol.com
Mississippi
Co-President:
Dr. John T. Barringer
(601) 855-8426
Email: jtbarringer@hotmail.com
Co-President:
Dr. Scott Hambleton, FASAM
(601) 288-4840
Email: slhambleton@aol.com
Nevada
Acting President:
Jeremy Lipshutz
Email: lipshutz@cox.net
New Jersey
President
Dr. Cheryl Kennedy
(609) 397-9468
Email: kennedy@njms.rutgers.edu
Vice-President
Dr. George Sollami
(732) 222-3940
Email: sollami414@verizon.net
Secretary
Dr. Michael Shore
(856) 354-8568
Email: michaelwshoremd@comcast.net
Treasurer/Immediate Past-President:
Dr. James P. O'Neill, FASAM
(732) 280-7555
Email: jaymd1@verizon.net
New York
President
Dr. Gregory C. Bunt
(212) 354-6000
Email: gbunt@daytop.org
Chapter Executive
John Coppola
(518) 426-3122
Email: jcoppola@asapnys.org
Executive Assistant
Sherry LaFountain
(518) 426-3122
Email: slafountain@asapnys.org
Immediate Past President
Dr. Norman Wetterau, FASAM
(585) 468-2528
Email: normwetterau@aol.com
Website:
http://www.nysam-asam.org
North Carolina
President:
Dr. Paul Martin
(828) 670-9145
Email: jpaulmartin@msn.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Elizabeth Stanton
Email: bsta302678@aol.com
Past-President:
Dr. James W. Finch, FASAM
(919) 623-7800
Email: jwfinch@nc.rr.com
Website:
http://www.ncsam-asam.org/
Northern New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont)
President:
Dr. Todd W. Mandell
(802) 251-0089
Email: todd.mandel@csacmethadone.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Judy Burk
(207) 941-4263 
Email: judy.burk@maine.gov
Secretary:
Dr. Seddon Savage
(603) 491-6104
Email: seddon.savage@dartmouth.edu
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Mark Publicker, FASAM
(207) 857-8062
Email: mpublick@gmail.com
Northwest Society (Wyoming, Montana)
President:
Dr. Berton J. Toews
(307) 265-3791
Email: btoews@wyomingrecovery.com
Ohio
President:
Dr. Steven C. Matson
(614) 722-2481
Email: steven.matson@nationwidechildrens.org
Website:
http://www.ohsam.org
Oklahoma
President:
Dr. Billy Stout
(405) 755-2656
Email: billy-stout@ouhsc.edu
Executive Assistant:
Nancy Chase
(405) 601-2536
Email: ohpp@okmed.org
Secretary / Treasurer:
Dr. Robert Westcott
(405) 756-1240
Email: spirochetes7@yahoo.com
Oregon
President:
Dr. Bruce Matthews
(541) 451-7800
Email: bmatthews@samhealth.org
Treasurer:
Dr. Gary Olbrich
(503) 807-3819
Email: garyolbrich@yahoo.com
Pennsylvania
Co-President:
Dr. Frederic M. Baurer
(215) 471-2807
Email: fredbaurer@gmail.com
Co-President:
Dr. Adam Gordon, FASAM
(412) 954-5201 x4123
Email: adamjosephgordon@gmail.com
Chapter Administrator:
Debbie Faesel
(717) 909-2688
Email: dfaesel@pamedsoc.org
Administrative Secretary:
Alicia Farrell
(717) 909-2687
Email: afarrell@pamedsoc.org
Rhode Island
President:
Dr. Walter D. Fitzhugh, FASAM
(401) 334-1830
Email: wfitzmd@aol.com
South Carolina
President:
Dr. Roy E. Smith
(803) 425-1330
Email: resmd@bellsouth.net
Chapter Executive:
Cathy Boland
(803) 798-6207
Email: cathy@scmanet.org
Treasurer:
Dr. Hugh Coleman
(843) 902-9446
Email: hipocrates@aol.com
Tennessee
President
Dr. John Standridge
(423) 531-4265
Email: jbsmd06@hotmail.com
President-Elect / Vice President
Dr. Alexander Zotos
(423) 316-8147
Email: alexanderpz@aol.com
Secretary/Treasurer
Dr. R. Thomas Reach
(423) 631-0432
Email: medmax1959@hotmail.com
Immediate Past-President
Dr. Michael J. Baron, MPH
(615) 383-4694
Email: mimobaron@comcast.net
Website:
http://www.tnsam.org
Texas
President:
Dr. Michael Sprintz
(614) 264-4783
Email: msprintz@me.com
President-Elect:
Dr. Jason Powers
(713) 933-0665
Email: jason.powers@rightstep.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Maher Karam-Hage
(713) 839-1445
Email: maherkaram@mdanderson.org
Utah
President:
Dr. Michelle Bauer
(305) 801-6012
Email: michelle.bauer@hsc.utah.edu
Secretary:
Dr. Christina Gallop
(801) 949-4538
Email: c1gallop64@gmail.com
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Sean Ponce
(801) 562-0806
Email: drponce@atmcounseling.com
Virginia
President:
Dr. K. LeGree Hallman
(757) 464-9520
Email: klegreehallman@hotmail.com
Treasurer:
Dr. Melissa Warner
Email: melissawarner@farleycenter.com
Washington
President:
Dr. David L. Beck
Email: daveonbi@gmail.com
President-Elect/Secretary/Treasurer:
Dr. Erick Davis
Email: DavisErick@msn.com
Immediate Past-President:
Dr. Michael Schiesser
(425) 283-4200
Email: mike@managingaddictions.com
Website:
http://www.wsam.org
Washington, D.C.
President:
Dr. Walter Faggett
(202) 403-4039
Email: waltpat7@gmail.com
Treasurer
Dr. Dennis Scurry
(301) 908-8887
Email: dscurrymd@aol.com
West Virginia
President:
Dr. P. Bradley Hall, FASAM
(304) 677-9283
Email: pbh2006@hughes.net
Wisconsin
President:
Dr. Dean Whiteway
Email: dean.whiteway@va.gov
Vice President:
Dr. Aleksandra Zgierska
(608) 263-4550
Email: Aleksandra.zgierska@fammed.wisc.edu
Chapter Executive:
Jessie Brost
(414) 454-6704
Email: jessica.brost@aurora.org